The Weekly Dose           Bexar County Medical Society

Week of June 9,  2013 

Vol. 2, No. 39

Building a functional team 


By John K. Wisniewski

BCMS CEO/Executive Director


Management experts have identified a hierarchy of issues that organizations must overcome to flourish. The items, in sequence, are:

  • Absence of trust
  • Fear of conflict
  • Lack of commitment
  • Avoidance of accountability
  • Inattention to results

This would be a good week to consider where you and your team are in this progression and how you plan to advance.


If you would like to learn more, let me know by clicking here






Tuesday, June 18

6:30 p.m.


Paesanos 1604

3622 Paesanos Pkwy

San Antonio,Texas 78231




"The Unaffordable Care Act"

David Hannah

Health Care Policy and Advocacy Director, J&J


Free for BCMS members and UTHSCSA residents


RSVP (if planning to attend) to Bexar County

Psychiatric Society





Go Spurs Go!




A note of thanks ...

BCMS physicians and Alliance members make all the difference during legislative session 



By Mary E. Nava, MBA

BCMS Chief Governmental and

Community Relations Officer


We cannot say "Thank You" enough to our physician members, Alliance members, and medical student and staff representatives who donated their time and energy to participate during the First Tuesdays visits to the Capitol and/or provide testimony on medicine's issues during the 83rd Legislative Session.


Once again, we'd like to recognize all of this session's participants:



Harrison Bowes, MD; Samuel Burns, MD; Cynthia Casteel, MD; Chelsea Clinton, MD; Suresh Dutta, MD; Robert Frolichstein, MD; Sanjuanita Garza-Cox, MD; Michael Guirl, MD; Pam Hall, MD; David Henkes, MD; Jim Humphreys, MD; Margaret Kelley, MD; Alexander Kenton, MD; Scott Kercheville, MD; Vijay Koli, MD; Ashok Kumar, MD; Robert Luedecke, MD; Jesse Moss Jr., MD; BCMS President Gabriel Ortiz, MD; Raymond Osbourn, MD; Jaime Pankowsky, MD; Rajam Ramamurthy, MD; Janet Realini, MD; Walter Root, MD; David Shulman, MD; Tom Spurgat, MD; Maria Tiamson-Beato, MD; BCMS Alliance President Lee Robin; Alliance members Jun Beato, MD, Cindy Comfort and Anne Foster; third-year medical student Leonel Lopez; Rick White, practice administrator for Greater San Antonio Emergency Physicians, and BCMS CEO/Executive Director, John Wisniewski.



Richard Benedikt, MD; John Holcomb, MD; Jim Humphreys, MD; Janet Realini, MD; and Buddy Swift, MD.



Also during the legislative session, several BCMS members participated as Physician of the Day at the Capitol.  These physicians volunteered their time to spend a day at the Capitol's clinic.  Many thanks to the following physicians who participated: Francisco Barrera, MD; Michael Dominguez, MD; Mitch Finnie, MD; Gabriel Ortiz, MD; and Horacio Ramirez, MD.



For local discussion on these and other legislative topics, consider joining the BCMS Legislative and Socioeconomics Committee by contacting Mary Nava at







Click here to get started!



 About The Weekly Dose 

  The Weekly Dose is a service of the Bexar County Medical Society.

Some of the suggestions conveyed may not be applicable to your practice today,
 but the goal is to offer information over time that returns value in excess

of the cost of your membership.

If you would like to recommend future topics to share with your colleagues,

please submit them to the BCMS executive director at

All rights reserved. Unauthorized use prohibited.

Copyright 2013
 Bexar County Medical Society, San Antonio, Texas.



Forward email

This email was sent to by |  

Bexas County Medical Society | 6243 I-10 West, Suite 600 | San Antonio | TX | 78201