BCMS logo green






June 21, 2015                                                                                           Vol. 4, No. 41




BCMS Alliance, Foundation award $32,000

in scholarships to 17 students


Seventeen area high school graduates received a total of $32,000 in scholarships June 3 from affiliates of the Bexar County Medical Society (BCMS).


The scholarship awards were presented during the BCMS annual New Member Welcome at the University of the Incarnate Word Rosenberg Sky Room. More than 250 members and guests attended the event.


Ten students each received $2,500 from the BCMS Foundation, the organization's philanthropic affiliate which annually honors students studying healthcare fields. Presenting the scholarship checks on behalf of the BCMS Foundation were representatives from local corporate supporters of the foundation, including:

Max Clark, Aspect Wealth Management; Dr. Gerardo Ortega, BCMS Foundation; Dr. Michael Magoon, Complete Urgent Care; Brody Whitley, Favorite Healthcare Staffing;

Laura Holland and Fernanda Smith, Frost Bank; Dr. Vivian Ayoub, MCCI; Dr. David Henkes, Monica Delgado and Jennifer Rittimann, Pathology Reference Lab; and

Connie Gilbert, PlainsCapital Bank.


Seven students each received $1,000 from the BCMS Alliance (BCMSA), which represents the men and women who are spouses of physicians. Awards were presented by Cindy Comfort, BCMSA scholarship chair and past president. For more information, including the recipients' names, schools and intended areas of study, please read the July issue of San Antonio Medicine, coming soon!



BCMS Call for Nominations


Physician-members of the Bexar County Medical Society: 


This is the time of year we ask for nominations for elected officers to lead the Bexar County Medical Society. I would like to challenge all member-physicians to think hard about who should be elected to impact the direction of medicine in San Antonio and Bexar County. 


We need strong leaders. Apathy is not a strategy. Please think about who you want to represent you to your colleagues and the outside world; let's have multiple candidates running for every position. Practices would be well-served to designate representative physicians from those practices or other practices to get involved to make a difference. We really need you! The society is only as good as the physicians you elect to run it!


To learn more and nominate online, click here.



Steve Fitzer

CEO/Executive Director

Bexar County Medical Society




Registration deadline for PQRS Group Practice Reporting Option (GPRO) is June 30


By Mary E. Nava, MBA

Chief Governmental and Community Relations Officer 


As reported by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, beginning in 2017, physician groups of all sizes will be subject to payment adjustments based on quality measures reporting for the 2015 PQRS program year.


This is a reminder that registration is open through June 30 for the Physician Value-Physician Quality Reporting System (PV-PQRS). This registration is applicable to group practices with two or  more eligible professionals who are interested in participating in the 2015 PQRS program year under the group practice reporting option (GPRO). There are a number of requirements you will want to read about, and TMA has provided numerous links to resources to help you determine what is best for your practice.  Click here to access information on these requirements in addition to details on how to get started in the registration process. A video link also is available, along with information on how to access free consulting services on Medicare's quality reporting programs.


For local discussion on this and other practice management topics, consider joining the BCMS Legislative and Socioeconomics Committee by contacting Mary Nava.







Bexar County Medical Society

6243 I-10 West, Suite 600 

San Antonio, TX 78201







About The Weekly Dose

The Weekly Dose is a service of the Bexar County Medical Society.

Some of the suggestions conveyed may not be applicable to your practice today, 

but the goal is to offer information over time that returns value

in excess of the cost of your membership.

If you would like to recommend future topics to share with your colleagues,

please submit them to the BCMS Executive Director at steve.fitzer@bcms.org.

All rights reserved. Unauthorized use prohibited.

Copyright © 2015 Bexar County Medical Society, San Antonio, Texas. 

All rights reserved.



Forward this email

Bexar County Medical Society
| 6243 I-10 West, Suite 600 | San Antonio | TX | 78201