April 23, 2017

Vol. 6, No. 16


In this Issue…

Mayoral/City Council Candidate Questionnaires

First Tuesdays

TexMed 2017

TMA Leadership College

Space For Lease

Support BCMS Circle of Friends Sponsors

      MedPro Group
Favorite Staffing
Ozona Bank

Mayoral/City Council Candidate Questionnaires

The Bexar County Medical Society posed several health-related questions to all of the mayoral and city council candidates running in the San Antonio city elections this year. The unedited answers from the candidates who responded to the questionnaire are linked below. The City of San Antonio holds its local elections on May 6. 
This information is provided as a service from the Bexar County Medical Society, but is not an endorsement. BCMS does not make endorsements of any candidates for office nor of elected officials.

John Velasquez – Mayoral candidate
Will McLeod – Mayoral candidate
Lauro Bustamante – City Council District 1
Keith Toney – City Council District 2
Dori L. Brown – City Council District 2
Rey Guevara – City Council District 4
Cynthia Cavazos – City Council District 5
Cynthia Brehm – City Council District 8
Paul Martin – City Council District 8
David “Doc” Cohen – City Council District 9

Matt Pina – City Council District 9
Eric Robert Morse – City Council District 10
John Alvarez – City Council District 10


Early Voting begins on Monday, April 24, 2017 and ends on Tuesday, May 2, 2017. Voting hours vary. A Registered Voter may vote at any of the Early Voting Sites. ELECTION DAY is May 6. Voting hours – 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at your respective Election Day Polling Site.

                                           First Tuesdays

Register now for the May 2

First Tuesdays


It’s time for First Tuesdays again…We need you to join us in Austin to help us advocate on behalf of medicine’s issues.  If you haven’t had a chance to participate in First Tuesdays, please consider doing so! Grab your white coat and come up to Austin for a day of fun and conversation!  For more information and to register for First Tuesdays at the capitol, go to


For local discussion on this and other advocacy topics, consider joining the BCMS Legislative and Socioeconomics Committee by contacting Mary Nava, chief government affairs officer and lobbyist at

TexMed 2017

BCMS Delegation to TMA nominates Jennifer R. Rushton, MD for AMA Alternate Delegate

TexMed 2017 is just around the corner and the BCMS Delegation to TMA has been very busy reviewing resolutions and preparing for the business of the House of Delegates. This year, Delegation members have nominated two members for elected positions: John R. Holcomb, MD, for a seat on the TMA Board of Trustees and Jennifer Rushton, MD, for a position as an alternate delegate to the AMA delegation. To read Dr. Rushton’s announcement letter, click here.

For more information or to learn how you can become a member of the BCMS Delegation to TMA, contact Mary Nava, chief government affairs officer and delegation liaison at

Join us for TexMed 2017, Texas Medical Association's (TMA) Annual Meeting at the new Marriott Marquis and the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston May 5-6. Physicians from around the state will gather to renew their passion for medicine. TexMed is a free member benefit with many reasons to attend.

At TexMed 2017, hear from nationally known speakers. Our first Opening General Session speaker, William H. McRaven, is the chancellor of The University of Texas System and former four-star admiral who served as commander of many U.S. joint special operations, including the Osama bin Laden operation six years ago. Chancellor McRaven will address recent the recent history of our nation’s security in addition to the Texas higher education system. Our second Opening General Session speaker, Kevin Pho, MD, founder of, will show you how social media can make a profound difference in health care.

TMA Leadership College

Ready to take your leadership journey to the next level?

Become a TMALC scholar!

Applications are due June 1, 2017.


Are you called to lead, but worry you aren’t a natural-born leader? Don’t worry. You’re not alone: Top leaders of America’s most successful health care organizations will tell you leadership is bred, not born. Most leaders have developed their abilities by taking advantage of their top innate talents, and seeking out and learning the skills they need. The Texas Medical Association is here to guide you on your journey to great leadership.

TMA established the TMA Leadership College (TMALC) in 2010 to help ensure strong and sustainable physician leadership within organized medicine. TMALC graduates serve as thought leaders who can close the divide among clinicians and health care policymakers, and as trusted leaders within their local communities.

With more than 40 hours of classroom instruction, the TMA Leadership College was designed for active TMA members under the age of 40 or who are in the first eight years of practice.

Are you ready to take the next step?

Click here for more information.

Click here for an application.

Office Closed


BCMS offices will close at noon on May 28th in celebration for the Battle of the Flowers Parade.


Space For Lease


Circle of Friends Silver Sponsor



COF Platinum Sponsor

COF Gold Sponsor



Thank you to our BCMS Circle of Friends sponsors!

This information is sent on behalf of our sponsors but it is not an endorsement.

Donations from Circle of Friends sponsors help keep down the cost of dues and allow

BCMS to continue to provide quality service to its members.


The society continues its pledge to you and only will involve itself in

services and programs that benefit you, the member, and your patients.



Bexar County Medical Society

4334 N Loop 1604 W., Suite 200

San Antonio, TX 78249



About The Weekly Dose

The Weekly Dose is a service of the Bexar County Medical Society.

Some of the suggestions conveyed may not be applicable to your practice today, 

but the goal is to offer information over time that returns value

in excess of the cost of your membership.

If you would like to recommend future topics to share with your colleagues,

please submit them to the BCMS Executive Director at

All rights reserved. Unauthorized use prohibited.

Copyright © 2017 Bexar County Medical Society, San Antonio, Texas. 

All rights reserved.